A New Year

It has been two weeks since last I posted, so for those that read my blog, I apologize for the absence.  It’s been a busy and trying two weeks and some of my absence can be attributed not only to general holiday celebrations and activities, but also two different raging illnesses.  Thankfully, Christmas and New Years are over and I have a new year to look forward to.  My wife and I have both came away from the season with a definite desire for a simpler Christmas next year.  Something quieter, less expensive and far less hectic.  For me, something where I’m not fixing Christmas dinner.

One of my primary personal goals in the coming year is to complete the first and second draft of my novel, but this past month has been slow going.  After the rush of NaNoWriMo, my prolific pace has slowed considerably.  Again, the holidays have a hand to play in that, but they are not entirely to blame.  I’m not so much experiencing Writer’s Block as Writer’s Fog.  The chapter I’m currently writing is dense and feels hard to navigate through.  I’m making headway, but it seems very slow.  Luckily I feel that I’m almost done with it, although I know it’s going to receive heavy editing in my second draft.

As always, the story continues to evolve with new characters and narratives emerging from the mist, so I’m always pleased when that occurs.  Once I’m done with this chapter, I’ll be in the final chapter of Act 1 and the setup for the rest of the story.  After this, the pace should pick up considerably and that should make writing easier on its own.

Another hopeful thing is the formation of the COWguild, or Central Oklahoma Writers Guild.  A group of NaNoWriMo participants form Oklahoma, including myself, have formed a writing group.  I am very excited about this for a number of reasons.  Beyond offering support and critiques, the group also could serve to improve our individual ‘writer’s platforms’.  That is another way of describing our individual ability to market ourselves and our writings.  I’m helping to create our web presence, so I’m sure I’ll be writing much more about our first meeting and debuting the guild’s website, when it is ready.

For now, I’ll leave you with one of my resolutions for the coming year.  Given my  slow pace this last month in comparison to the proliferate rate I enjoyed in November, I’ve determined that I write best when facing a challenge, so I’ve decided to set such a challenge for myself.  I’m calling it: 365 days of Writing.  I’m setting a goal of no less than 500 words of writing each day for myself.  Those words can be spent on my novel, this blog, the upcoming COWguild blog or any combination of the three. I’ll begin this challenge on January 15th.

The key to good writing is writing each day.  Tasking myself with a goal and a structure can only help me better focus my energies and push myself to achieve more.  I look forward to seeing how much I can accomplish.

With that, I bid everyone a happy year and best of luck on your own resolutions and goals for this coming year.

Leave a Reply

