Not really ‘half’ though….

keep-calm-and-writeSo, this actually occured last night, but today I reached 28360 words.  Of course, that means I’m half ‘finished’ with the NaNoWriMo challenge, but for me, this was never really about spurting out 50k words.  This is really about me finally finishing the zero draft of my first novel in the Clockwork Wind Saga (yes, there has been a name change, of sorts).  By the end of this month, I wanted to have finished the last third of my novel. so that I could really dig into deconstructing it and fixing all of the leaky holes and bloat so I can hand something reasonably sized and written to my unsuspecting beta readers.

And woo boy, am I far from half done with that goal!

My opinions about the virtues and purpose of NaNoWriMo have been evolving of late.  In its pristine state, I think NaNo is an amazing exercise, something very worthwhile to participate in and an enormous bolster to literacy and storytelling in general.  I think it’s a marvelous spur for people (like myself) who are hesitant to try their hand at writing to really dig in and finally do it.

I don’t think it’s a miracle ‘write-a-novel-in-a-month‘ event though.  If you stop at 50k words, that’s not a novel.  Spamming 50k words on a page is not novel writing, it’s first drafting.  There’s so much more to the process than that and people participating in NaNoWriMo need to keep their eyes open to that fact.  It’s a magnificent, beautiful opportunity, but you have so much more work after that.

I have so much more work after this.

So, I’m fully anticipating that my word count will get insane by November 30th.  Make no mistake, that’s not a good thing, because all I’m doing right now is piling on the fat with some necessary meat in the middle.  Sooner or later, I’ll need to trim it.  But it is necessary and I’m going to finish this novel so next year when I participate, I can actually –maybe– do what the event is supposed to be and try something new, brand new, like only outlined new.  

Until then, keep me in your thoughts and hey, be a good lot and donate to the good folks at NaNo.  Encourage more people to be well read and better written.

2 thoughts on “Not really ‘half’ though….

  1. Clockwork Wind is an awesome title for a series, evocative and memorable. I envy people who can come up with good titles; I don’t seem to have been born with the gene for it.

    Congrats on your excellent word count. I agree that NaNo is all about getting out as many words as possible, not about the expectation of completing an entire novel. For me personally, NaNo also helped establish a daily routine for writing. That was big.

    Like

    1. I agree. NaNo gave me two essential things: (1) it showed me that to be successful and to become a writer, you must write everyday, something, anything, every day; and (2) I can write something every day. It’s not always easy, but it is possible and if you are truly passionate about doing it, bam, you can really get the words on paper. As for my title.. heh… that’s like a fourth genesis and obviously if I get a publisher, that will most likely change, but it really ties into my story best and I’m loving it right now. Anyways, thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

